Marymount California University Library

Faculty Services

Interlibrary Loan

ILL booksBooks, journal articles, and other materials not owned by the Marymount Library are available for free through interlibrary loan (ILL). Depending on the lending library and the item being requested, materials typically arrive anywhere between a couple of days to one month.

Electronic Databases


DatabasesThe Library subscribes to a number of proprietary databases which provide access to over 23,000 full-text journals, newspapers and magazines from around the world, including scholarly, research-level articles in all subject areas.  Some databases also feature other electronic resources, including streaming video, images, reference sources, and statistics and data sets.  In addition to having on-campus access to our online resources, users can easily access the databases remotely by logging in with their Marymount computer username and password when prompted.  Any of the librarians will be happy to assist you in how to search the databases.  If you are experiencing access issues, please contact the Library.

In addition to be able to search the databases individually, the Library's catalog is able to search most of those databases simultaneously, thus enabling the researcher to uncover useful sources from databases they might otherwise not have thought to search.  This added convenience does come at a cost. First,, not everything is covered.  Second, the catalog does not have the same level of precision in constructing searches that you will typically find in most propiretary databases.

Research Assistance

Librarians are available to help you locate information and use library resources. Reference assistance is available during open library hours through a number of ways...simply click on the icon to the left to see all the ways you can get help (in person or online!)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License