Now that you have completed reading most of your Introduction to Information Literacy for Students textbook, you have the necessary comfort level and familiarity with the library to approach this library assignment. Budget for 2-3 hours of work. You will use both the online and the physical library at Marymount California University.
This library assignment introduces you to some of the resources offered by the Marymount Library. Learning to use the library -- to go beyond Google, your course textbook, and the professor's lecture -- supports learning and inquiry and helps you transition from high school "search" to college-level "research."
For the annotated bibliography assignment, follow the guide lines listed below on this page.
Before submitting your assignment, use the assignment checklist to ensure you've included all of the required sections found on the left side of this page.
This library assignment contains many research skills that you will need, to be an effective researcher here at Marymount California University. Some of these research skills include: finding books, citing sources, summarizing information, and evaluating materials for your research need.
For this assignment you will search the MCU Library catalog and academic databases for the following four sources:
An annotated bibliography is a combination of the words annotation and bibliography. An annotation is a short summative and/or evaluative paragraph. One of the purposes of writing an annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited, and to state how this source will be used in or relevant to the paper or project.
A descriptive annotation describes the source itself without summarizing the actual argument, hypothesis, or message in the content. It describes what the source addresses or covers, what subjects or topics are included, and any special features, such as appendices or bibliographies. What it does not include is any criticism of the content.
This type of annotation seeks to answer the question: "Does this source cover or address the topic I am researching?"
A bibliography is a list of references that help a reader identify sources of information. An annotated bibliography is a list of references that not only identifies the sources of information but also includes a short evaluation summary of each source.
Your annotated bibliography will be made up of sources relevant to your research question you have been exploring these past 6 weeks and will include a summary of each source. As you research your topic, develop an annotated bibliography of relevant sources. Your final annotated bibliography should include annotations for 4 sources that represent multiple perspectives on your research topic.
Here are some guidelines set by the Marymount Library:
1. Write a Statement of Scope. Write a brief introductory statement to explain what your annotated bibliography is covering (one to two sentences). The statement of scope provides some general insight that should connect all the subsequent material (view example).
2. The first part of the annotated bibliography entry should contain a citation written in the following documentation style (APA):
For a physical book or eBook:
Author's last name, Author's first name. (Year Published). Title of book. City, State: Publisher.
For an article:
Author's last name, Author's first name (first initial only). Title of article. Name of the periodical, year of publication. Remember: Annotated bibliography should be arranged alphabetically.
3. The second part is your annotation. It should summarize the material contained in the source. You may want to include the following:
4. The third part of your assignment will include proof or records of your sources found in the MCU library catalog and academic databases. Label this section A-F and include the following bold headings in this section of your paper:
D. First page of eBook: record copy from MCU online catalog (view example).
E. Article #1: record copy of first page from Academic Search Premier (view example).
F. Article #2: record copy of first page from ProQuest Research Library (view example).
See Sample Assignment and Rubric section below to view a full MCU Student Annotated Bibliography Example assignment and download a word document template. This will help you gain a better understanding of the guidelines and format of the paper listed in this section and get you started.