Marymount California University Library

Psychology Capstone

Tests and Measurements

Finding psychological tests can be very challenging so it is important that you begin your search early. This page provides search strategies to find a specific test or a test that examines a particular variable (ex: anxiety, addiction, job satisfaction, etc.)

For a detailed overview on finding tests, look over the American Psychological Association's FAQ sheet: "Finding Information About Psychological Tests."

Select Books About Psychological Tests

Search Strategies

Although there is not one single method to locate measures, there are a number of strategies that can help you.

  • In the Advanced Search of PsycARTICLES, you can search for an article that contains a particular test or measure by selecting "TM Tests and Measures" on the drop-down box and type the test or measure name, e.g. wechsler intelligence scale for children.
  • The USF Test and Measures Collection from the University of South Florida can guide you to questionnaires, surveys,  tests, etc. that are contained in books owned by USF. Once you find a book with your test, you can search for the title at Marymount Library to see if we have the book. If we do not own the book, you can request to borrow the it from another library through interlibrary loan.
  • Find articles in databases like PsycARTICLES and ProQuest Psychology Journals that use a test or similar variable that you need. When searching, try using the following keywords in addition to your own search terms:
    • psychological tests
    • psychometrics
    • psychology research
    • assessment
    • personality tests
    • personality assessment
    • intelligience tests
    • assessment
    • testing
    • [specific test name]
    • [specific methodology] (ex: empirical, clinical, etc.)
  • Copies of tests and measures can occasionally be found by using Google Scholar. Set up your computer to connect Google Scholar with Marymount Library to start searching!
  • Find descriptions and contact info for over 25,000 published and unpublished tests in the ETS Test Collection index. A small number of tests can be purchased and downloaded directly from the website.

Tests Online

CHIPTS Instrument Bank
Directory of instruments used by the Center for HIV Identification, Prevention, and Treatment Services at UCLA. Browse alphabetically or by subject category. Instruments are attached in PDF.

HSRR (Health Services and Sciences Research Resources)
A database available from the National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR). Search by Instruments/Indices.

Industrial/Organizational Psychology Scale Page
Scales from Paul E. Spector, organizational psychology researcher at the University of South Florida.

Measuring Intimate Partner Violence, Victimization and Perpetration: A Compendium of Assessment Tools
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Contains over 20 scales.

Measuring Violence-Related Attitudes, Beliefs and Behaviors and Influences Among Youths: A Compendium of Assessment Tools
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Contains over 170 downloadable measures.

Project Implicit
A multi-university research collaboration between the University of Washington, Harvard, and University of Virginia. Register for free to take online tests that measure unconscious feelings and preferences regarding 90 varied topics by rapid categorization of words and images. Demonstration tests not requiring registration are also available. Test takers can view results in comparison to other respondents. Also provides full-text research studies that have used the tests.

Social Personality Psychology Questionnaire Instrument Compendium
A directory of tests maintained by Dr. Alan Reifman of Texas Tech University. If the complete test has been put online by its author, there will be a link to the test.  If not, there will be a link to the test author's website or affiliated organization.

Hamilton Depression Rating Scale
This online depression scale was developed at Palo Alto Veterans Affairs Hospital by Wes Ashford, M.D., Ph.D.

Inventory of Depressive Symptomatology (IDS) and Quick Inventory of Depressive Symptomatology (QIDS)
This test is offered in multiple languages by University of Pittsburgh Epidemiology Data Center.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License