International Center for Photography This link opens in a new window
Provides information on photographic collections, their library, archives, other resources, and publications.
Photo.net This link opens in a new window
Connect with other photographers, explore photo galleries, discuss photography, share and critique photos, and generally learn about photography.
A nonprofit organization that encourages emerging and mid-career artists to explore new directions in photography and related media.
Lomographic Society International This link opens in a new window
A magazine, shop, and community dedicated to analogue photography. Also includes a collection of analogue photographs.
Shutterbug This link opens in a new window
An online magazine with articles and information on digital photography. Not all materials are freely accessible but a variety of good articles can be accessed.
Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
14 million images including photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. Particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the American people.
Los Angeles Public Library Images This link opens in a new window
An online photo collection that emphasizes the history of Los Angeles, Southern California, and California.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art Image Library This link opens in a new window
A selection of unrestricted high resolution images from LACMA's collection. Images include photographs.
LIFE Magazine: Photographers This link opens in a new window
An online photo archive of photographers who shot for LIFE Magazine. Search by photographer or decade.
LIFE Photo Archive hosted by Google This link opens in a new window
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Museum of Contemporary Photography This link opens in a new window
Browse the museum's image collections. Also provides information about contributing photographers respective of their images.
Getty Photo Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains two million photographs with supplementary and original pictorial research for the study of fine arts from antiquity to the modern period.
Google Art Project This link opens in a new window
A partnership between Google and hundreds of museums, cultural institutions, and archives to host the world’s cultural treasures online. Search by collection, creator, medium, event, place, person, media type, or date.