Need an article that our library doesn't have? You can easily request to access articles from another library through our interlibrary loan service, free of charge! Visit our interlibrary loan guide for step-by-step instructions to unlock articles!
Anatomy of an Article
Most scholarly articles in the social and behavorial sciences follow this structure:
Abstract – summary of the article
Introduction – why the research was conducted
Methodology – how the research was conducted
Results – the findings and outcomes of the research
Discussion – what the results mean
Conclusion – what was learned from the research
References – information and published research that the researchers drew on for their study
This interactive tutorial introduces the parts of a scholarly article, and how to use an abstract to quickly determine relevance.
(Courtesy of NC State Univ Libraries)
How to Read a Journal Article
Learn more about how to read scholarly articles
Searching in Databases
With Marymount Library e-Resources (aka databases), you can find over 8,000 educational videos, over 1,000,000 articles, and 32,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers. Check out a sampling of our databases below and start searching! You can also view our complete list of databases here.
Search mainly news, magazine, and journal articles across all subjects.
A multi-disciplinary full-text database with indexing and abstracts for over 8,450 periodicals, with full-text for more than 4,650 of those titles, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals. This database covers nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, arts & literature, and global studies.
Get diverse perspectives: search newspapers, magazines, and journals of U.S. alternative and independent presses.
Full text articles of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. This interdisciplinary resource provides a valuable source of alternative viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge mainstream media coverage.
Find educational talks and viewpoints about social psychology.
Strategies for Searching Article Databases
Link your search words or concepts with the word AND. For example, a good way to find articles about the relationship between video games and the characteristics of the people who play them would be to search: 'video games' AND 'personality'
If there are different ways to say the same thing, consider using the linking word OR. For example, video games or computer games.
Adding an asterisk (*) at the end of a word will get alternative word endings. For instance, a search on child* will find the word child, but will also find 'childhood' and 'children.'
Remember to click the box that says "peer-reviewed/academic journal." This will make sure you get the kind of research that you probably need for your assignment.
Acessing e-Resources from home or off-campus requires your network log-in information. If it is your first time logging in, use the following log-in information:
Username: First Initial + Last Name Password: Student ID Number